Alexander Campbell, the man whose creed was “only the Bible,” had these remarks to say about the doctrine of the Trinity:

26. “I have never spent, perhaps, an hour in ten years in thinking about the trinity. It is no term of mine. It is a word which belongs not to the Bible, in any translation of it I ever saw. I teach nothing, I say nothing, I think nothing about it, save that it is not a scriptural term, and consequently, can have no scriptural ideas attached to it” [Christian Baptist, vol 7, 208, quoted in Silas Noel, “The Thirty Nine Articles,” quoted in J. H. Spencer, The History of the Kentucky Baptists from 1769 to 1885, vol. 1 (Cincinnati: J. R. Baumes, 1885), 630].

27. “Trinity. This is one of these untaught questions which I do not discuss, and in the discussion of which I feel no interest. I neither affirm nor deny anything about it. I only affirm that the whole controversy is about scholastic distinctions and unprofitable speculations” [Ibid., 630].

36. “Is Jesus Christ the very and eternal God? Ans. If men could debate such a question upon their knees it would be scarcely admissible. It is an untaught question, a scholastic one in its form, and terms, and tends to perpetuate a controversy, and a peculiar style of speaking, which, the sooner it could be forgotten, the better for both saint and sinner” [Ibid., 633].

Sometimes I wonder if the days are coming when these kinds of comments will be resurrected.

What is the correct response to Mr. Campbell’s sentiment?

