Here are some odds and ends from the Immoderate desk.

For helpful definitions of liturgical terms, I recommend the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod site. By the way, you can still purchase The Lutheran Hymnal (1941) from them. The Smith Creek Music site also looks to have promising information on hymns. My friend Todd Mitchell sent me a link to this Tenebrae site which I believe most of my readers would enjoy rummaging through.

The introductory quote on this blog post reminded me to be very serious about what I say I believe, lest unbelievers blaspheme the name of the Lord.

Pastor Bob Bixby has a good definition of sentimentality posted.

My wife and I have put together an Advent and Christian hymnbook to use for caroling (Christmas: the only time of year where people tolerate good hymns). The book is nothing extravagant or “professional,” but would be happy to offer it anyone interested. We would like to offer it to the general public at $1.00 per book (which includes shipping) to cover publishing costs. I have included a list of the songs below, and, though it does not have “One Small Child,” I think many would find this sort of thing helpful. If you would like to purchase some copies, email me.

All Praise to Thee, Eternal Lord (Tallis’ Canon) 3
All My Heart this Night Rejoices 21
Angles From the Realms of Glory 20
Angels We Have Heard on High 23
Behold the Great Creator Makes 19
Christians, Awake, Salute the Happy Morn 10
Comfort, Comfort, Ye My People 5
Come, Thou Redeemer of the Earth 4
From Jesse’s Stock Up Springing 18
Gentle Mary Laid Her Child 7
God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen 16
Good Christian Men, Rejoice 17
Hark! The Herald Angels Sing 6
In the Bleak Mid-Winter 15
Joy to the World! 8
Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence 9
Long Ago and Far Away 14
O Come, All Ye Faithful 13
O Come, O Come, Emmanuel 12
O Little Town of Bethlehem 24
Of the Father’s Love Begotten 1
See Amid the Winter’s Snow 22
Silent Night! Holy Night! 2

