I don’t usually get too worked up about DVD releases, but this one is a definite exception.

June 26th is only 12 days away, but there’s no need to camp outside any stores because you can order it on-line (if you fish around a bit, you might find it cheaper, but if you buy it through Amazon after following the link below, I’ll get a small cut).

Go to the Koopman Bach Cantata DVD at Amazon

The 180 minute Kultur DVD will include these cantatas:

  • Actus Tragicus, BWV 106
  • Aus der Tiefen, BWV 131
  • Wachet auf, BWV 140
  • Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147
  • Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht (Kaffee Kantate) BWV 211
  • Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen, BWV 56

In my opinion, the DVD looks great simply because it has BWV 106. But then to add 131, 140, and 147 is like icing on the cake (or, better yet, four layers of icing on the cake!). It probably sounds like I’m gushing. The DVD could be a bomb. But it is Ton Koopman. I mean, it has to be better than season three of The Simpsons or whatever else you’ve been eyeing.

Go to the Koopman Bach Cantatas DVD at Amazon