Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This Lord’s Day, Dr. Kevin Bauder of Central Baptist Theological Seminary will be ministering at First Baptist Church this Lord’s Day.

The Christian always watches, anticipating the realization of his hope and the glorious appearing of his great God and Savior Jesus Christ. This hope is his constant vision in this world of atheism, folly, and malice. He knows that true justice will be done in the end by the great Judge of all the earth. Knowing that this world of sin and brokenness is not ultimate, a true Christian has his heart set on that time when God will make all things right. The cry of the final verse of Psalm 56 is on his lips: Oh, that salvation for Israel would come out of Zion! He hopes for the salvation of Israel and the salvation of the world that will come with it (compare Rom 11:12). And, he firmly believes in the second line of this Scripture: When God restores the fortunes of his people, let Jacob rejoice, let Israel be glad. There will be no joy like that joy when God finally saves his people. There will be no gladness like that gladness when the world is made right in subjection to the Son of God, with his enemies under his feet. God graciously gives us joys and glad things on this side of heaven, but then will know pure joy itself. Then we will finally know true gladness. As we wait for God to do this, let us rejoice and be glad in God as we gather to worship him in sacred sweetness this coming Lord’s Day.

In the prayer service, we will sing a psalm setting based on Psalm 51. The text itself will be new to most of us, but the tune (REDHEAD) should be familiar. The name of the hymn is God, Be Merciful to Me.

Worship Service

Call to Worship: Psalm 53:6

Hymn 293 [Red] Crown Him with Many Crowns

Congregational Reading: Psalm 53:1-5

Doxology: Gloria Patri, Red 436

Hymn 267 [Red] When I Survey the Wondrous Cross

Hymn 20 [Blue] We Praise Thee, O God, Our Redeemer

Prayer

Offering

Scripture Reading: Exodus 3 & John 1:1-18

Hymn 355 [Red] In God, My Faithful God One of the hymns I have truly enjoyed learning since becoming acquainted with our Cantus Christi hymnal has been “In God, My Faithful God.” This text is a remarkable declaration of faith in God by someone who clearly knew what it meant that God was “Faithful.” Each of the five verses beautifully teach us what it means to rest in God no matter what. Yet the second provides a special balm for sinners: My sins assail me sore, but I despair no more. I trust in Christ, who loves me; from this Rock nothing moves me. To Him I all surrender, to Him, my soul’s Defender. I hope we never get over just how glorious this particular demonstration of God’s faithfulness is to us, that he would count sinners righteous.

Sermon: TBD

Hymn [Insert] My God, I Love Thee

Prayer

Benediction

Kevin Bauder will be teaching Sunday School as well.

 

 

